Central Equatoria


Jennifer Lugor

Ag State Coordinator

* * *


Brief History

The 1972 Addis Abeba agreement became the roadmap for the recognition of Southern Sudan as a state among other states by allocating Juba, the current Central Equatoria state (CES) capital city, as the capital of the High Executive Council of the Regional Government in the South Sudan.

Earlier, during the colonial agreement in Sudan, the British administration in South Sudan was based in Juba which was by then known as a province.

Then, from 1989, the current government in the North gave CES another name, Bahr-El-Jebel. The signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) on the 9th January, 2005 made it possible for the State historians to bring back the name Equatoria. Hence, today it’s known as Central Equatoria State.


The state covers an area of 22,956 sq.km consisting of six counties and 41 payams. It is situated between 30E and 6N at a strategic position bordering Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo in the South, Eastern Equatoria state from the east, Jonglei and Lakes states in the North, and Western Equatoria state in the West.

The State capital city is Juba and other important towns include: Yei, Terekeka, Mororbo, Lainya, Kajokeji, Tali and Kaya.


The exact number of the people living in the state is not yet defined since waiting for the result of the census which was conducted in April 2008. However, the return of the peace in the south and allocating of Juba as the Capital of the Government of Southern Sudan (GoSS) have led to influx of people from other states and nations.

The town centers are more populated than the rural areas. Looking at the sex ratio, there are more females than males. The overall life expectancy is 50 years.

The main ethnic tribes in the state include: Bari, Mundari, Nyangwara, Pojulu, Kakwa, Kuku, Keliko, Baka, Avukaya, Adio, Lugwara, Lulubo, and Lokoya with different languages. Bari and English languages are considered as the state local and official languages. But also other languages are spoken.


Central Equatoria state is in the tropical climate, annual temperature ranging from 24.7 C to 34.5 C with rainy season from April to November.

Six counties of Central Equatoria state

  • Juba
  • Terekeka
  • Yei
  • Kajokeji
  • Lainya
  • Mororbo