Eastern Equatoria





Mary Achomo Buyu

State Coordinator

A South Sudanese from the Mardi tribe born in 1974. She has worked for theNDDRC for 4 years and started as a Reintegration Officer. She is now the State Coordinator for Eastern Equatoria State.

Mary Achomo has many years experience as a supervisor, coordinator and instructor for many humanitarian organizations such as GTZ, the International Rescue Committee (IRC), the office of the Prime Minister and Alere Resource Women’s Project.

Eastern Equatoria is one of the ten states of South Sudan and it covers an area of approximately 82,542 km², the state capital is Torit.


The state shares international borders with Uganda in the south, with Kenya in the south-east and with Ethiopia in the north-east. Domestically, it is bordered by Central Equatoria in the west and Jonglei in the north. The Ilemi Triangle in the east, between Eastern Equatoria and Lake Turkana, is or has been disputed among all three abutting states (Sudan, Kenya and Ethiopia).

Administrative Map.


Eastern Equatoria state is home to several different ethnic groups. The Toposa, Gie and Nyangathom live in the Kapeota counties in the east of the state. The Didinga, Dodos and Boya live in Budi county around Chukudum. Further west, Lafon, Torit and Ikotos counties are inhabited by the Otuho, Lopits, Lango, Pari, and Tenet people who inhabit a portion of Lopit hills after they split from Didinga and Murle early in 19th century and Lokoya of Lowoi. The Acholi, Madi, Iriye and Ofiriha people live in the westernmost Magwi county.[1]

Most of the inhabitant of Eastern Equatoria live by subsistence farming, and also raise cattle, sheep and goats. Some of the crops sold, while most are consumed locally. The Didinga hills in Buda county have rich and fertile soil that is used for cultivation of tobacco, potatoes, maize, and Dura.


The executive head of the State is the Governor, who is elected. The Governor appoints ministers, advisors, and the County Commissioners. The legislature is elected, with the first elections being held in April 2010.

Administrative divisions

Eastern Equatoria, like other states in South Sudan, is sub-divided into counties. These are further divided into Payams, then Bomas. Each county is headed by a County Commissioner, appointed by the President of the Republic of South Sudan.

Counties were originally larger, but have been subdivided in part to ensure that the different communities have full representation. Thus Torit County was subdivided into Torit, Lafon and Ikotos counties, and Greater Kapoeta was divided into Budi County and Kapoeta county, which in turn was divided into Kapoeta North, South and East counties.

Counties and their commissioners as of 2011 were:




Torit County


Felix Otuduha Siro

Lafon County


Caesar Oromo Urbano

Magwi County


Peter Ochilo

Ikotos County


Peter Lokeng Lotone

Budi County


Joseph Napengiro Lokolong

Kapoeta North County


Lokai Iko Loteyo

Kapoeta South County


Martin Lorika Lojam

Kapoeta East County


Titos Lokwacuma Loteam