Mr George Gatloy






* * *



Unity State is the second largest state in the Upper Nile region bordering Southern Kordofan in the north, and bordering also with Warrap, Lakes, Jonglei, and Upper Nile states. It is composed of nine counties which are divided into Southern area and Northern area.


Unity State – Bentiu’s population is close to 600,000 formed of nine clans from Nilotic ethnic groups.


Socio-economically the people of Unity State depend on agricultural production, cattle keeping (goats/sheep), fishing, hunting and also local trading among themselves. The state is a part of the oil producing area of Sudan. Only 2% of the produced oil stays in the Unity state.


Unity has two major seasons know as dry and wet season. The dry season has a cooler and warmer period like in all of the Greater Upper Nile. The average wet season usually lasts for 8 months.

Political / traditional leadership

Dinka and Nuer communities are ruled by traditional courts, head chief and a sub chief of a certain clan. They are monitored and evaluated by elders in the community who must endorse the case among the two or between communities in case of land issues, or border line conflict. The dowry for marriage is 40-50 cows, if you don’t have such a number of cattle for marrying a girl you will have no wife. This is a strong custom in both Dinka and Nuer communities.


Nuer and Dinka have very strong beliefs in cultural roots and their activities are dominated by traditional beliefs and practices such as initiation rituals, inter-marriages, and conducted exercises in ceremonies to show men how to go for war with somebody.

Nine counties of Unity

  • Leer County in South of Bentiu
  • Mayandit County in South of Bentiu
  • Guit  County in South of Bentiu
  • Panyjar County in South of Bentiu
  • Koch County in South of Bentiu
  • Mayom County in Northern of Area of Bentiu
  • Rubkona County in Northern of Area of Bentiu
  • Parieng County in Northern of Area of Bentiu
  • Abiehnom County in Northern of Area of Bentiu