Western Equatoria



Philip Benjamin Juma

State Coordinator


A South Sudanese by nationality from Western Equatoria State, Zande by tribe born in Yambio in 1968.

He was employed by the National Disarmament Demobilization and Reintegration Commission (NDDRC) on august 16, 2010 last year as Monitoring and Evaluation Officer - NDDRC Western Equatoria State. In april 1, 2011, he was appointed to carry out the Commission‘s duties, responsibilities and roles as the State Director NDDRC for Western Equatoria State.


In 2002 he joined studies at Daystar University, for Diploma studies and completed in Athi-River Nairobi Kenya in 2005. He holds a Diploma in Community Development Studies, awarded by Daystar University Nairobi –Kenya.


He earlier worked at Nile Commercial Bank (NCB) for three Years’ in Yambio, as a telegraphic transfer Officer. In 2005, worked for African Educational Truest, Yambio-Role Centre as Office Manager and served for Episcopal Church of Sudan Diocese of Ezo, Established Masumbu Christian Relief and Development Association in Ezo County. 1992 worked in Ajumani Camp –Uganda as a worker, road contractions.


Western Equatoria State

Administrative Map;


Western Equatoria State is very important in Southern Sudan, according to its strategic importance; it lies to the Western part of Greater Equatoria Region and to the South of Greater Bahr Al Ghazal Regions.


It shares boarder with the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) to the South and the Republic of Central Africa to West and to Lakes State to the North. It has a closer boarder with Uganda. Western Equatoria State covers an area of 79,342.65 Sq km consisting of ten Counties.


Western Equatoria State is known for its natural resources and for being the bread basket of South Sudan. During the past years, people of Western Equatoria State do not go hungry in the State, food used to be exported to Juba which is called today Central Equatoria State, the Capital of South Sudan. Some of these foods were transported to Wau, Malakal and could be flown to Khartoum.


The State capital city of Western Equatoria State is in Yambio and other important town’s includes Nagero County, Tombura County, Ezo County, Nzara County, Ibba County, Maridi County, Mundri West County, Mundri East County and Mvolo County. There is justice flowing among the Son’s and daughters of the State.



The exact population number of the people living in the State is according to the rejected Census results conducted in April 2008.The town Centers are more populated than the rural areas because of the so-called lords’ resistant army (LRA) abduction in the State. Security is not stable in some areas in WES, due to constant attacks on the civilian and the villages. There is massive influx internally displaced people cost by LRA and ambororo in Western Equatoria State.


The main ethnic tribes living in the State are Zande tribe, Baka, Mundu, Jur Bele, Avokoya, Moru, Bari, Kuku and Balanda to mention the few.



Western Equatoria State has continuous heavy rainfall throughout the year and people depend on agricultural production for survival, type of vegetation is Equatoria type with thick forest.


Ten Counties of Western Equatoria State

Nagero County

Tombura County

Ezo County

Nzara County

Yambio County

Ibba County

Maridi County

Mundri West County

Mundri East County

Mvolo County